A Big Goof & A Little Mermaid

It’s hard to believe Halloween is over!  This year is flying by.  Sawyer and I had the best time making his costume.  A few months ago, I kept pitching him costume suggestions.  He seemed mostly uninterested: “You could be a football player or a policeman.”  “I just want to be Sawyer.”  I was thrilled when he finally decided on Goofy.  He and I worked diligently on his get-up, and while it may not be the best-looking costume in the history of the world, we made great memories while we worked on it.  It will be hard to forget what transpired when we were winding down after several days of pinning, cutting, and sewing and we were a little under the gun to finish.  We were pinning some fabric, and Sawyer started crying out of nowhere.  I asked him what was wrong, and he said, “It isn’t fun anymore.”  What an insightful, perceptive child!  We had a great time overall, and he really enjoyed clapping his gloves together.  Sheridan didn’t have too much say in her costume, but I bet she’ll have tons of ideas next year.  The main requirements for her were to be easy to get in and out of the car seat and to not pose an extreme choking hazard since she lives to put things in her mouth.  She was a beautiful mermaid and indulged in many of her sea shells, but that was to be expected.  She handled all the stops and visits well.  We enjoyed traveling around Scott County on Saturday and heading over to Allardt on Halloween.  What spooky and appropriate weather we had that day!  The kids got so many treats we thought it might be Christmas instead.  This Halloween is in the books, and it was a fun one!

One thought on “A Big Goof & A Little Mermaid

  1. Sawyer and his mama sure did work hard on these costumes! I’m thrilled you guys will have the memories of working on it together! These kids look AMAZING, and I’m sure they had SO much fun! I’m sorry I missed seeing these two, but your pictures are the next best thing. They make me feel like I’m there!

Leave a Reply

